AUA Summit - 2018 Winners



2018 Winners

Congratulations to the many winners announced at this year's Annual Meeting!

2018 Award Winners

Each year, the American Urological Association honors the contributions of physician researchers and educators to the field of medicine, the specialty of urology, and the AUA.

  • Ramon Guiteras Award: Edward M. Messing, MD
    For over 35 years of outstanding contributions to the art and science of urology, specifically, urologic oncology
  • Hugh Hampton Young Award: Francesco Montorsi, MD
    For seminal scientific contributions to the study of urologic oncology and andrology, as well as mentorship and global leadership in academic urology
  • Gold Cystoscope Award: E. Jason Abel, MD
    For outstanding contributions as a physician-scientist in renal carcinoma research, clinical excellence and education
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Pramod C. Sogani, MD
    For exemplary service and leadership as AUA President and for teaching and mentoring generations of urologists
  • Robert C. Flanigan Education Award: Gary J. Faerber, MD
    For years of tireless devotion to education and mentorship of residents and faculty, and vision in developing the AUA Residents Bowl
  • Victor A. Politano Award: Timothy B. Boone, MD, PhD For excellent clinical research and educational efforts in neurourology and neuroscience, including urodynamics, female pelvic medicine and spinal cord injury
  • William P. Didusch Art History Award: Erwin W. Rugendorff, MD
    For decades of support for the Didusch Center for Urologic History and outstanding writing on the history of medicine and philately
  • Distinguished Contribution Award: Arthur L. Burnett II, MD, MBA
    For outstanding contributions to the fields of prostate cancer, sexual medicine and urologic mentoring
  • Distinguished Contribution Award: Wayne J. G. Hellstrom, MD
    For seminal contributions to andrology in the fields of sexual dysfunction and infertility as well as effective leadership and mentorship in academic urology
  • Distinguished Contribution Award: Louis R. Kavoussi, MD, MBA
    For pioneering contributions to minimally invasive urologic surgery, telemedicine and education
  • Distinguished Service Award: J. Quentin Clemens, MD
    For excellence in neurourology and pelvic reconstructive surgery as well as service as the Data Committee Chair in developing the AUA Quality Registry
  • Distinguished Service Award: Jeffrey E. Kaufman, MD
    For decades of outstanding leadership and service to the Western Section and the AUA Board of Directors and contributions to the importance of Health Policy
  • Distinguished Service Award: Richard A. Memo, MD
    For exemplary service and leadership as AUA Treasurer, and as the inaugural Chairperson of the Urology Care Foundation
  • Gold-Headed Cane Award: George W. Kaplan, MD
    For excellent work in the treatment of children with urologic diseases and mentorship in educating future pediatric urologists
  • Presidential Citation: Michael S. Cookson, MD, MMHC
    For outstanding service in the development of the Oncology Knowledge Assessment Test and as chair of the Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer Guideline
  • Presidential Citation: Gerald H. Jordan, MD
    For decades of innovation in urologic reconstruction and fostering collaboration between the American Board of Urology and AUA
  • Presidential Citation: Jack W. McAninch, MD
    For training and educating generations of urologists in trauma and reconstruction
  • Presidential Citation: Jessica McCullough
    In recognition of 15 years of outstanding administrative service to urology and the AUA
  • Presidential Citation: Arturo Mendoza-Valdes, MD
    In recognition of years of service to the Sociedad Mexicana de Urología and the AUA South Central Section
  • Presidential Citation: John W. Weigel, MD
    For over 50 years of educating and mentoring generations of urologists in the military and the University of Kansas

Western Section Claims Title in 7th Annual Residents Bowl

In a championship game that included unprecedented overtime and tiebreakers, the Western Section "California Streamin'" team defeated the South Central "Pirates of the Perineum" team to win the 2018 AUA Residents Bowl. Congratulations to team members Brittney Hanerhoff Cotta, MD (University of California, San Diego), William Austin Critchlow, MD (Mayo Clinic Arizona), Adam Gadzinski, MD (University of California, San Francisco), Alexandria Hertz, MD (Madigan Army Medical Center), Serena Yang-Loudin, MD (Oregon Health & Science University) and International Representative Henry Yao, MBBS (Western Health, Australia)!

The Northeastern Section "Red Hot Willie Checkers" team claimed the prize of the best team name.

Annah Vollstedt, MD, Wins 2018 Chief Resident Debate

Dartmouth-Hitchcock resident Annah Vollstedt, MD, represented the New England Section during her win at the 6thannual AUA Chief Resident Debate. Dr. Vollstedt's debate topic focused on female urology, where she was assigned to persuade the judges that Chemodenervation was an appropriate treatment option for an outlined case. This was also the first year that the debate was held during the Plenary. Congratulations, Dr. Vollstedt!

Unwanaobong Nseyo, MD, Awarded Top Honors in First Annual AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Essay Contest

Dr. Unwanaobong Nseyo, resident at University of California, San Diego, was formally recognized at the Residents Forum event for her winning essay, one of 50 submitted by medical students, residents and fellows as part of the inaugural AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Essay Contest. Honorable Mention winners Dr. Julia Fiuk (Resident, Southern Illinois University School of Medicine), Natalie Hartman (Medical Student, University of Southern California), Dr. Ramphis Morales-Lopez (Resident, University of Puerto Rico) and Dr. Nathan Wang (Resident, McMaster University) were also recognized. Read their essay's here.

Douglas Husmann, MD, Receives 2018 AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award

Congratulations to Dr. Douglas Husmann of Mayo Clinic for being named this year’s AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award winner, which recognizes an outstanding educator in the field of urology. Drs. Kirsten Greene of University of California, San Francisco and Khaled Hafez of University of Michigan were finalists for the award.

Young Urologist of the Year Award Winners

Congratulations to the following, selected by their colleagues, who serve on the Young Urologists Committee, as a Young Urologist of the Year Award winner. The award recognizes the contributions and accomplishments of upcoming, young urologists who have established themselves as future leaders in the specialty: Stephen A. Boorjian, MD, North Central Section, Mayo Clinic; Rodney Breau, MD, Northeastern Section, University of Ottawa; Matthew Nielsen, MD, Southeastern Section, University of North Carolina; Joseph Sterbis, MD, Western Section and SGSU, Tripler Army Medical Center; Michael B. Williams, MD, Mid-Atlantic Section, Eastern Virginia Medical School; and Vijaya Vemulakonda, MD, South Central Section, University of Colorado – Children's Hospital.

2017 – 2018 Member Get-A-Member Grand Prize Winners

AUA members who participated in our 2017-2018 Member Get-A-Member referral program and recruited a colleague for membership were entered into a raffle for a chance to win travel stipends of $1,000, $500 and $250 to the 2019 AUA Annual Meeting in Chicago. Congratulations to Jaime Balingit, MD, ($1,000), Roger Yau, MD ($500) and Navin Shah, MD ($250).